Laurel Street Blog

Slipcover your laptop (plus, a little anniversary)

Posted on: January 26, 2010

I know you will want this (I know I do)  to protect your laptop with style. It’s like a trompe-l’oeil case for your computer! Each is handmade from leather and no two are exactly alike.  These come via a company called Twelve South and while they are tailored for Macs they will fit many PCs as well.

I mean come on – how cute is that? I wouldn’t mind the laptop on the coffee table so much if it looked like a beautiful antique book.

P.S. This is my one hundredth (100!) post here at the Laurel Street blog so I’m declaring it my blog anniversary. Technically, I started this whole mess on October 31, 2008 but I liked the roundness of 100 posts so I waited to celebrate. I typically don’t post just any old thing so it’s taken me a while to get to 100 and today’s the day – wheeee!

I’m not going to get too deep here, but I will say that I have taken these two things to heart:

#1 – I have learned that we are having truly engaging and continual conversations with each other through our blogs. It’s like a fun dance party where the bouncer never comes in and turns on the lights (and I am a simply terrible dancer, thanks for not mentioning that).

#2 – I have learned that there are many talented and genuinely thoughtful people blogging about design and decor (see my list of ‘Daily, Dutiful Reads’). So many of you have taken the time to come visit Laurel Street and leave wonderful comments – thank you.

Oh, and by the way, I have no idea what I’m doing here! I’m not an interior designer,  just an art guy with a house. I don’t have deep clipping files for a high volume of posts. I’m not trendy, much less a trend setter.

One hundred posts ago I decided I would share a some of my projects online and join in the conversation. And even though I have no idea what I’m doing with this blog, I must say doing it with all of you is a lot of fun.

24 Responses to "Slipcover your laptop (plus, a little anniversary)"

Love the laptop cover. How clever. Congratulations on 100 posts – quite an accomplishiment.

That’s an amazing idea!

Congrats on making it to 100! I’m so happy I stumbled across your blog :)

Congrats! Keep doing what your doing…we’re all enjoying it!

I’d love to slipcover my laptop with this cool case!

Congrats on the 100th post! I really love this:
#1 – I have learned that we are having truly engaging and continual conversations with each other through our blogs. It’s like a fun dance party where the bouncer never comes in and turns on the lights (and I am a simply terrible dancer, thanks for not mentioning that).

Couldn’t agree more (I’m a terrible dancer too!)

Congrats on the 100th blog post!! Quite an accomplishment :-D

LOVE that laptop cover. So friggin cool!! I want one!

So, keep on being your funny self and I look forward to 100 more posts from you!

Oh shiz, I need one of those!

Happy anniversary!!! ; )

Well, I for one would disagree that you don’t know what you are doing! Congratulations on your 100th! I look forward to the next 100. P.S. I just gave you a little shout out today. :)

Thanks for nice comment and the shout out Ally! Hope all is going well in the new house!

Oh that is WAY too cool!

I love this!!! Thanks for visiting my blog…love to find new readers!
Donna

Love it. And I’m happy to know that I’m not the only one out there who cares how my laptop looks on the coffee table. ; ) Trina

100! Your still a very cute kid!
And the lap top cover is cute, but not for $80.! Well maybe if I wasn’t so poor it would be okay ha ha.
xo xo

Well done on your 100th, Nathan! I thoroughly enjoy reading your decor adventures. Anita x

congrats on 100! very well-put, though I disagree with “I don’t know what I’m doing.”

100 wonderful, funny, entertaining, honest, educational, thought-provoking posts – you rock my Laurel friend!
Millie ^_^

Well done on 100 – I just did the same so it does feel kind of like a nice achievement. I love your blog even though just cannot work out how to follow you. Thats okay I will still come by.

Anyway the laptop cover is great – I could even smuggle it into court as the judge would think it’s just a book.

xoxo

Wow, those are cool. I am going to go check them out. I just found your blog…congrats on the anniversary. I am less than 2 weeks old….100 posts seems so far, far away! Now to read your blog!

oh wow, what a great idea! ps: congrats on your 100th post!

Hi Nathan, lovely Ally from The Right Bank led me here. And I feel at home! I had to scroll down to once gain be inspired by your wall hanging project. I am not much of aa copy cat – but I will so copy that idea! Tons of congratulations on your 100th post! xx from Seattle, Monika.

Nate ~ Congratulations!! Well…I know what you’re doing…you’re making me swoon over your Laurel Street Cottage! You could turn this project into book! :)

Congrats! I always enjoy visiting your blog. You may be “just an art guy with a house,” but you’ve got great style, and I love your sense of humor. Here’s to another 100! :)

P.S. I really need one of those laptop covers–too cool.

Congrats!

Don’t you know I’d seen that very laptop cover somewhere and saved a picture of it….because I was covetting it too! I just didn’t know where it was from or how much it costs (ouch)

But anyway, I wonder what the traditional hundreth blog post gift is… maybe laptop covers in the shape of clever things?

If my mac had had a cover, it would not be the bedraggled thing it is today. I like those booky ones very much.

Leave a Reply

Laurel Street Blog

Nate and Louis

Well, hey there. I'm Nathan and this is the Laurel Street Blog. It's a place for talking about design, decor and DIY (with small amounts of snarkery snuck in). I'm a pretty restless guy who loves house projects and lives in a 150+ year old cottage on Laurel Street in New Orleans. Since the house always has something going on with it (or falling off of it) I'm subsequently blessed with a never-ending supply of Web content to share. Oh - and you can drop me a line anytime LaurelStreetNola@gmail.com. Enjoy!

Can I get a tweet up in here? Follow along @LaurelStreet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The Laurel Street Cottage

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
