Laurel Street Blog

Don’t you need some extra gloss in your life?

Posted on: January 20, 2010

I know I do. And it all started with these glossy black doors:

Wow! These are beautiful!

Everybody loves this San Francisco house from Elle Decor – funny but one of the things I admired the most were the glossy black front doors. The hardware and center knobs are beautiful too… but that’s not what got me thinking about pulling out paintbrushes! The glossy black finish looked chic and sleek to me.

Loving the doors. And those picture frames, the consoles, the giant glass hurricanes... and...

There’s a lot to love in this room (I shamelessly pilfered this image from my blog cousin Millie at the Laurel Hedge) but the doors again caught my eye. I believe the image originates from Homehints.

Another fabulous black door.

Another find from Ness of Marley & Lockyer blog and store fame – what a tidy, trim entry. The Wellies make the photo for me – not to mention the black and brass on the front door.

From Better Homes and Gardens via Porchlight blog

Here’s a stunner with sidelights, all rendered in black. It’s from BHG via (my third Australian design blog in one post – wow!) via porchlight interiors. I want a real gardener to deliver those two urns that flank the door to the Laurel Street cottage.

I honestly can't remember where I swiped this image from - please let me know if it looks familiar to you.

Black doors from Joni Webb's Tanglewood client. That door looks wonderful with the black banister.

Joni from the ever amazing Cote de Texas blog talks about when she painted all of her interior doors black – and again where she did it for a client. After seeing this – I love the idea.

A lovely study from Patricia

The wonderful Patricia from pve design is the source of the handsome drawing above – it’s a bit amazing how Patricia’s drawings can inspire inspire us. Take a look at this wonderful post from The House that A-M Built.

Looking good on these French doors!

I think painting the pocket doors black is a pretty hot look. I might be run out of the house if I did this to ours, however.

Above two images from the wonderful Raenovate blog post on a before/after by designer John Willey on an upper East side renovation.

The Laurel Street brown varnished door. I think a serious sanding and high gloss black might do it a real favor. Probably need to rethink the old curtains a bit (they are necessary for basic privacy). And what is up with all those crazy light switches and old alarm system box? Hmm.

Now I just need to figure out how to make it happen. Anybody have any painting tips for me to get that black high-gloss look?

10 Responses to "Don’t you need some extra gloss in your life?"

Start with a dark grey primer, add several thin layers of satin paint–sand between each layer—for a glossy finish, the door needs to be as perfect as possible. Then, when you have complete black coverage and the door is as smooth as you can get it–do a couple of layers of high gloss exterior paint—if you can bear working with oil, it leaves the best finish. My favorite black is Sherwin Williams Tricorn Black–it’s a true black, but a soft one.

I knew you would come to the rescue, Mitchell!

DEFINITELY do the high gloss black. It will be sassy! And what about doing an opaque treatment on the glass with your street number or monogram etched out in the middle? It would provide privacy, but light, with a touch of badass style! : )

The door curtain must go – you need to find a way!

The fourth image is the front door to a house belonging to a friend of mine. Besides this lovely front door, her bathroom makeover as well as other parts to her home have been featured in many magazines published by Meredith.

Christy also owns a lovely store called Genevieves. I have pictures of her store and home on my blog (RedDoorHome.blogspot.com) if you are interested in seeing more. The posts are called “The Home and Store Connection.”

Love!
Much nicer than the all black room.

I love black. As a lowly renter, I can’t paint, so have black curtains instead.

We’ve been channelling the same black gloss spirit Natonius. I was only looking at our front door in disgust on the weekend thinking ‘You’ve got to go & soon.’ It the original 1972 light varnished wood look & it’s hideous. However with so much going on inside the house, this is Task # 1684 on the list. MOTH would seek legal advice if I dared do something to the door, as that would mean the frames & then the entire exterior – woo girl. Do yours straight up, so I can live vicariously through it.
Millie ^_^

Love the doors. I think yours will look great painted black. I kinda like the little lace curtain though.

~janet

Great post.

As your first commenter says, you would need several layers and you must use oil (so get out that mouth \ nose mask thing otherwise you will be over the moon for the rest of the day not to say minus some brain cells). You should also do the brass kick bit at the bottom that looks fantastic.

Our front door is a very dark red. I think it would look good black, I might give it some thought.

I tried to go high-gloss (navy) on our outside doors and it didn’t get as glossy as I wanted. Reading the comments, I think I might try again with oil-based paint. It would pain me to paint that pretty door of yours, but I’m sure it would look fab in the end!

PS, I’m 99% sure that mystery photo is from Domino.

Leave a Reply

Laurel Street Blog

Nate and Louis

Well, hey there. I'm Nathan and this is the Laurel Street Blog. It's a place for talking about design, decor and DIY (with small amounts of snarkery snuck in). I'm a pretty restless guy who loves house projects and lives in a 150+ year old cottage on Laurel Street in New Orleans. Since the house always has something going on with it (or falling off of it) I'm subsequently blessed with a never-ending supply of Web content to share. Oh - and you can drop me a line anytime LaurelStreetNola@gmail.com. Enjoy!

Can I get a tweet up in here? Follow along @LaurelStreet

The Laurel Street Cottage

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
