Laurel Street Blog

Dear Pottery Barn:

Posted on: November 21, 2009

Behold. The Pottery Barn Daily System.

Behold. The Pottery Barn Daily System.

What is the concept at work here?

To take a drawer and hang all of its contents on a wall?

Clearly the people that live in this imaginary Pottery Barn house have a desperate need to see at all times, with a single glance:

  • their scissors
  • a bingo card
  • one photograph of pancakes
  • every key that they own
  • 30 precisely sharpened pencils

Or maybe its is a low tech version of this:

Either way, I am amused that the first item on the imaginary shopping list is “Arugula”

22 Responses to "Dear Pottery Barn:"

Oh, my gosh, this made me laugh out loud. Too funny!

Julia just tweeted this and it’s hilarious. Thanks for some perspective on one of our most loved stores :).

This is clearly the work of a deranged, albeit organized, mind.

Well said! ;0)

LOL – LOVE it! and to think of the people who worked to painstakingly create that spread…too funny!

yeah, right….like these people actually play Bingo.

[…] Open Letter to Pottery Barn that made me laugh out […]

Haha. This made me laugh. I never noticed how ridiculous those items were.

All the stuff in my desk drawers end up on top of the desk anyway when I’m looking for something, might as well just throw it up on the wall.

I guess they weren’t shopping for Anise that day.

That’s why I love my junk drawer. I can’t see the junk.

You have a great eye for detail! Well spotted and thanks for the sanity check. I spend a lot of time sighing over Pottery Barn pictures and this makes me see the other side of the coin!

This is so funny, Julia! Honestly, it does make me appreciate our drawers.

That’s fantastic! I always wondered why someone would want all that crap out in the open for everyone visiting to see!?!

Too funny. I think a lot of these retailers don’t have a clue…who wants to see all that junk? Not me – hide it please and I shall search for my scissors…

All too darn precious for my liking Nate – these folk need to be attending a meeting of Neat Freaks Anon. pronto! Thanks for your sweet message, you are the best.
Millie ^_^

I can see having things out when you are using them but it is not something I would want to look at. I clear the counterr/desk of bills and mail when company is coming. I don’t know why anyone would want to see all that junk on the wall.

rick s

Ugly. Disturbing. But very funny.

Too funny! Of course the contents of my junk drawer wouldn’t be so color coordinated.

you are too funny. I have often thought that PB’s stylists must be the busiest people in the company. but half the fun (sometimes most of it) of flipping through the catalogue every month is seeing what they will come up with next.

LOL – Great post! I look forward to reading more of your blog… Thank you for visiting mine and leaving a comment. All the best!

I am amazed at your eyesight!! But you’re right–and funny!

I don’t EVER want anyone to see all of my crap! Love your take on it. Perfect!

This is hilarious. Especially the picture of pancakes.

Leave a Reply

Laurel Street Blog

Nate and Louis

Well, hey there. I'm Nathan and this is the Laurel Street Blog. It's a place for talking about design, decor and DIY (with small amounts of snarkery snuck in). I'm a pretty restless guy who loves house projects and lives in a 150+ year old cottage on Laurel Street in New Orleans. Since the house always has something going on with it (or falling off of it) I'm subsequently blessed with a never-ending supply of Web content to share. Oh - and you can drop me a line anytime LaurelStreetNola@gmail.com. Enjoy!

Can I get a tweet up in here? Follow along @LaurelStreet

The Laurel Street Cottage

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
