Laurel Street Blog

This Weekend = Basic Math

Posted on: November 13, 2009

Vintage 1974 Kenmore Sewing Machine

Vintage 1974 Kenmore Sewing Machine. Do not ask it to do anything more than a straight stitch or it starts making noises like a bucket of rocks in the clothes dryer.

+

headboard

Wingback headboard with attractive shape but unfortunate wickeriness.

=

???

I’m thinking slipcover – either Linen or White Twill will be involved and piping for a nice professional look. I can guarantee some cursing will also be involved.

Hopefully the “after’ will make it to the blog. Not all of my weekend projects are successful. My attempt a faux finish on a light fixture last weekend was not pretty. Literally and figuratively.

I’m due for a win, I think.

UPDATE: I forfeit the match. Twill & linen were boring. I could not find a nice pale, mushroom colored velvet in town. My motivation to continue making a pattern has diminished to zero. I seem, in fact, to be growing fonder of the original wicker by the minute.

 

3 Responses to "This Weekend = Basic Math"

Gee, aren’t there some little mice or something who can help?

You’re a braver man than I am. Good luck!

I have two bits of advice. Buy a lot of pins–pin every inch if possible, it does help. And buy lots of thread–more than you can possibly use, because nothing sucks more than running out just as you get to that last seam and all the fabric storesa are already closed. Good luck. And when in Rome, I much preferred the Borghese Museum to the Vatican. The parks around the Villa Borghese are incredible and they have the famous sculpture of Pauline Bonaparte Borghese reclining nude.

Leave a Reply

Laurel Street Blog

Nate and Louis

Well, hey there. I'm Nathan and this is the Laurel Street Blog. It's a place for talking about design, decor and DIY (with small amounts of snarkery snuck in). I'm a pretty restless guy who loves house projects and lives in a 150+ year old cottage on Laurel Street in New Orleans. Since the house always has something going on with it (or falling off of it) I'm subsequently blessed with a never-ending supply of Web content to share. Oh - and you can drop me a line anytime LaurelStreetNola@gmail.com. Enjoy!

Can I get a tweet up in here? Follow along @LaurelStreet

The Laurel Street Cottage

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
