Laurel Street Blog

Un flaneur… le long du boulevard

Posted on: October 10, 2009

In fact, there is a motorini in my future.

In fact, there is a motorini in my future.

Oh yes, that is one pretentious post title. I like to trot out the French from time to time just to keep things fancy. Actually, the ‘flaneur’ part is from Edmund White’s literary confection of the same name concerned with nothing more that various walks though Paris. All pretense aside, it will transport you there. It is a wonderful read and you will save euros.

I should be working on my [rudimentary? rough-hewn? larval?] Italian sound-making ability right now as it is only six weeks and counting until our non-traditional Thanksgiving in Italy. I have tapes, grammar workbooks, phrase guides, flash cards (one must attack the enemy from all sides! …Assaltare!) What I do not have is motivation.

So in basically non-sequetorial spirit I present: Le Boulevard. It’s an art & antique mall that lives technically in New Orleans but is in fact so close to Metairie it might as well be there (it’s also close to my primary hair care provider).

Do you all remember Metairie? The place where New Orleanians are forced to go from time to time to get stuff? The place where the sole question on the driving exam is, “Can you honk the horn?” I believe this is the same driving test they take in Italy.

I’ll start with the GOOD:

An adorable coffee table made from reclaimed New Orleans shutters. A glass top keeps your wine glass from ruining the rug. A design by Janet Molero, ASID. Cute, no?

An adorable coffee table made from reclaimed New Orleans shutters. A glass top keeps your wine glass from ruining the rug. A design by Janet Molero, ASID. Cute, no?

Here's the dining room version - I'm crazy about this.

Here's the dining room version - I'm crazy about this.

This is a handsome (and well priced) writing desk from a seller who had numerous writing desks and obviously shares my dotty obsession with writing desks. Alas, I do not have a spot for it.

This is a handsome (and well priced) writing desk from a seller who had numerous writing desks and obviously shares my dotty obsession with writing desks. I do not have a spot for it. Shoot.

A lovely pair of colorful lanterns - it's a shame they weren't wired for the new electric light.

A lovely pair of colorful lanterns - it's a shame they weren't wired for 'the new electric light.

This pair of (Italian!) lanterns was electrified and I would've slapped them up all over the front of my house if I weren't going to (Italy!) next month. $$$.

This is one of a pair of (Italian!) lanterns which was electrified and I would've slapped them up all over the front of my house if I weren't going to (Italy!) next month. They are well priced, but still... well, let's just say there's room in the budget for haircuts and coffee right now and that's about it.

Nice gray linen chairs with an unexpected printed burlap on the back.

Nicely made gray linen chairs with an unexpected printed burlap on the back.

There was more GOOD, but I’m snarkily itching to get to the BAD!

A very rare specimen from the Lo Mein dynasty. It is fortunate that my iPhone has a terrible camera inside of it. This is more hideous than you can believe and I simply cannot fathom an interior design problem where this chair is the solution.

A very rare specimen from the Lo Mein dynasty. It is fortunate that my iPhone has a terrible camera inside of it. This is more hideous than you can possibly believe and I cannot fathom an interior design problem where this chair is the solution.

Tortured Jesus with a decorative gold gilt base was on sale! This was actually sitting on a buffet in a dining room vignette. I'll just have a salad, thanks.

Tortured Jesus with a decorative gilt base is on SALE! This is actually sitting on a buffet in a dining room vignette. I'll just have a salad, thanks.

Every room needs a focal point!

Every room needs a focal point!

And of course, we have the UGLY. If you have an expensive LCD monitor you may not with to continue. No warranty or liability is implied…

That's quite an flower arranglement.

That's quite an flower arranglement.

Though a creative fusion of flammable fabrics and electricity, this lighting creation still manages to retain a hydra-like creative point of view.

A creative tour de force of flammable fabrics and electricity. Hydra-like, this lighting Muppet could illuminate your own collection of snow-globes and props from the movie Aliens.

7 Responses to "Un flaneur… le long du boulevard"

Looks like it might be worth a ride to the burb of family values ha ha, but then again maybe not. What a shame New Orleans does not have one great Flea Market like New York, DC, Paris, or any other big city. Oh yeah, we’re a small city, but still…
xo xo
PS Your post about The Jefferson Flea was dead on. What a hell hole of overpriced crap. Do you remember the old pre-K Thrift City on Carrolton and Tulane? It was so cheap, and once in awhile you found something good.

The bleeding Jesus takes the cake. Or, really, someone else can take my cake after I see that thing on the dessert buffet. I know that one man’s trash can be another man’s treasure, but isn’t there a point at which fuzzy orange lamp Muppets are everyone’s bad taste?
Hilarious post. Keep ’em coming.
xo

“flower arranglement”

Ah….thank you for that. Perfect.
Going straight into the vocabulary now.

My best pal from college was from Metairie. I had my very first wine cooler there. ; )

Egad. I can think of no more appropriate place for that!

I’m torn about Le Boulevard–I’ve actually bought several things there for clients. On one hand, I wish there was a more stringent vetting process for the vendors so I would have to hunt through all that chaff. On the other, I heartily agree with Diane Vreeland’s opinions about bad taste and do enjoy viewing some of the more vivid items for sell.

Oh Lordy Lordy (every pun intended)! Talk about moving from the sublime (those shutter tables) to the ridiculous (that 3-headed Lamp). Pass the brandy bottle please. The only phrase I know in Italian is how to order Breakfast. Contact me for details if desperately hungry.
Millie ^_^

Leave a Reply

Laurel Street Blog

Nate and Louis

Well, hey there. I'm Nathan and this is the Laurel Street Blog. It's a place for talking about design, decor and DIY (with small amounts of snarkery snuck in). I'm a pretty restless guy who loves house projects and lives in a 150+ year old cottage on Laurel Street in New Orleans. Since the house always has something going on with it (or falling off of it) I'm subsequently blessed with a never-ending supply of Web content to share. Oh - and you can drop me a line anytime LaurelStreetNola@gmail.com. Enjoy!

Can I get a tweet up in here? Follow along @LaurelStreet

The Laurel Street Cottage

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
