Laurel Street Blog

Dear Ralph Lauren,

Posted on: July 20, 2009

You know I’m a fan. You have kept me prepped since the 80’s. Your paints color my walls. Your towels are still perfectly navy blue after 4 years of weekly washing. I understand that you are a giant conglomerated-omnimedia type thing now and it’s hard to keep track of every little detail, but may I mention one thing that has come to my attention?

This is a all out, God forsaken mess and I cannot believe I paid almost $50 for two pillow cases that look like Shar-Pei's when they come out of the dryer.

This is a all out, God-forsaken mess and I cannot believe I paid almost $50 for two brand new pillow cases that look like a couple 0f Shar-Pei's when they come out of the dryer.

And you should see the sheets – even worse. Can I call your attention, dear reader, to the lovely smooth duvet cover beneath these hideous, wrinkled messes? It’s from Restoration Hardware – and it came out of the same dryer as the pillows and sheets.

Now I know that there are some people in the world out there that are interested in things like ironing sheets. I know that they even make fancy little scented sprays that once can delicately spritz across the linens while ironing them to make them small like – I don’t know – Provence.

I am not one of those people. Heck, my housekeeper would laugh me out of my own house if I asked her to iron the sheets. Perhaps these will mellow with age… but I’m disappointed. They pick up a perfect little taupe high note in the paisley duvet.

So please Ralph, pay attention. For the sake of your loyal fans.

2 Responses to "Dear Ralph Lauren,"

Loved this post Nate! Yes you are so right, life’s too short to be spent ironing pillow slips of all things. Although I did have a great Aunt who ironed everything to within an inch of its life, including her husband’s boxer shorts! Yes Ralph, get with the programme buddy & make it easy for us.
Millie ^_^

Isn’t that something? Wrinkled designer sheets…I’m sure those wrinkles did not come cheap! You make a good point. I would have the same reaction as you did.
Shirley

Leave a Reply

Laurel Street Blog

Nate and Louis

Well, hey there. I'm Nathan and this is the Laurel Street Blog. It's a place for talking about design, decor and DIY (with small amounts of snarkery snuck in). I'm a pretty restless guy who loves house projects and lives in a 150+ year old cottage on Laurel Street in New Orleans. Since the house always has something going on with it (or falling off of it) I'm subsequently blessed with a never-ending supply of Web content to share. Oh - and you can drop me a line anytime LaurelStreetNola@gmail.com. Enjoy!

Can I get a tweet up in here? Follow along @LaurelStreet

The Laurel Street Cottage

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
