Laurel Street Blog

What have I been missing on HGTV?

Posted on: June 4, 2009

Shirley, aka EdenMaker

Shirley, aka ""EdenMaker""

Apparently I’ve been missing a wonderful garden designer named Shirley Bovshow! I just stumbled across a stunning before & after post on her blog EdenMakers for often under-utilized spaces,  narrow side yards.

I’ve been longing to have a shady, peaceful walk down the fenced side of the house since the day we moved in. I imagine  lots of ferns, hostas, ivy, some climbing hydrangea… all surrounding a tidy path of flagstones. I’m wanting a little water feature perhaps, plus low landscape lighting.

This would be my dog-free garden where I could walk at night and not have to worry about, well, the fact that dogs had been in there. You know, doing that thing that dogs do. I love to walk around when I’m brainstorming or just have something on my mind. My long side yard has some potential… but right now, it’s a wreck!

The previous owners made an unfortunate choice for the area. Apparently frustrated by weeding and maintenance, they had a truckload of red, volcanic landscape rock ( <- yes, it’s actually that color) dumped and spread over landscape cloth along the entire length of the house. It’s still there. I’ve been waiting for inspiration to strike before I hauled it all off, one wheelbarrow load at a time.

I think I found some inspiration today with this post from the EdenMakers blog. Take a look at these two pics, but do follow through to her site and enjoy the entire post. It’s a beautiful garden.

The Before Shot

The Before Shot

Wow - what an after shot.

Wow - what an after shot.

2 Responses to "What have I been missing on HGTV?"

GORGEOUS!!! I love the trellis and the flagstone walkway. It’s almost tuscan in flavor. You MUST do this!

Hi!
Thanks for sharing my blog post and visiting my site. I’m honored. Keep me posted on your gardening and landscaping adventures!
Shirley Bovshow

Leave a Reply

Laurel Street Blog

Nate and Louis

Well, hey there. I'm Nathan and this is the Laurel Street Blog. It's a place for talking about design, decor and DIY (with small amounts of snarkery snuck in). I'm a pretty restless guy who loves house projects and lives in a 150+ year old cottage on Laurel Street in New Orleans. Since the house always has something going on with it (or falling off of it) I'm subsequently blessed with a never-ending supply of Web content to share. Oh - and you can drop me a line anytime LaurelStreetNola@gmail.com. Enjoy!

Can I get a tweet up in here? Follow along @LaurelStreet

The Laurel Street Cottage

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
