Laurel Street Blog

Match a Paint Color, on Your iPhone!

Posted on: May 21, 2009

Color Capture Ben Paint Matching Application for iPhone. Photo via the New York Times.

Color Capture Ben Paint Matching Application for iPhone. Photo via the New York Times.

Ha ha – another post “Ripped from the Headlines” of the New York Times home section today. Sorry, I couldn’t resist. I am an unabashed fan of the iPhone and this app sounds too cool (and will be FREE)!

The concept is simple and elegant. Take a picture with your iPhone, zoom in on an area of color that you want to match in paint. Click “match” and the application will evaluate your chosen color against the Benjamin Moore color families and find the best matches! Save your favorites in the application for the next time you’re in the paint store. You’ll also be able to see that color’s nearest neighbors, in both lighter and darker shades.

I’m impressed. And I bet that other paint manufacturers will be following suit very soon. Color Capture Ben is being released on June 1st. Read more about the application on NYTimes.com.

Home Apprasial Update:

I probably over-worried the entire home appraisal process. Richard was the one that got me started by saying “I wish we could paint the kitchen before the appraisers come…” which sent me into a weekend marathon of cleaning and clearing and patching and caulking. All of which was a good thing of course – but I was working right through the time I left for work Monday morning. The house looks great – if I can only keep it that way!

We really can’t say if all of my home improvements added to the appraisal (though many were noted) but the house appraised higher than our original purchase price. Given the depressed state of the U.S. real estate market, there was some nagging feelings that we might be in for an unpleasant surprise. To the contrary, we’re very pleased with the results.

2 Responses to "Match a Paint Color, on Your iPhone!"

Congrats on the appraisal.

I too was very excited about this app – Sherwin Williams has had a app with similar functionality out for a while, but I spec Benjamin Moore paints so I was hoping this would be “the missing link” in my iPhone color apps. Alas, it’s got quite a way to go…. (as does the Sherwin Williams app)…

I posted the full review of color apps for the iPhone at:

http://areaaesthetics.typepad.com/airings_on_design_by_area/2009/06/confessions-of-an-app-addict-the-skinny-on-color-apps-for-the-iphone-.html

Leave a Reply

Laurel Street Blog

Nate and Louis

Well, hey there. I'm Nathan and this is the Laurel Street Blog. It's a place for talking about design, decor and DIY (with small amounts of snarkery snuck in). I'm a pretty restless guy who loves house projects and lives in a 150+ year old cottage on Laurel Street in New Orleans. Since the house always has something going on with it (or falling off of it) I'm subsequently blessed with a never-ending supply of Web content to share. Oh - and you can drop me a line anytime LaurelStreetNola@gmail.com. Enjoy!

Can I get a tweet up in here? Follow along @LaurelStreet

The Laurel Street Cottage

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
