Laurel Street Blog

Dime Store Gilt to Burled Mahogany

Posted on: April 11, 2009

The Vamp's Stunning Alabaster Lamp

The Vamp's Stunning Alabaster Lamp

I do not like to paint. There. I said it. I wish that I could do decorative techniques – like my blog buddy Mitchell of Optimism and White Paint fame or Valorie, the famed Visual Vamp whose ‘alabaster’ finish on  her bedside lamps had me convinced they were real. I just don’t have the touch. My one attempt at color washing a wall is to this day is ruefully remembered by Richard. It was a mess – I stopped at 3 square feet.

So, I mentioned in a previous post that I was suspicious of a painting ‘solution in a can’ but had great success with the Rustoleum Classic Leather kit when I painted my coffee & side tables. Consisting of a reddish brown spray paint, a dark brown can of glaze… all you do is spray, wipe on the glaze, then press crumpled up old grocery bags over the wet glaze and yank it off. Even I can do that.

I picked up these four inexpensive little fern prints from Louise’s Etsy.com store, MadoniaBotanicals the other day – $5.00 a piece. I loved the little fern prints, but I wasn’t at all fond of the dime-store gilt finish on the frames. So I pulled out the leather kit and gave them a new finish.

The canonical before shot:

The canonical before shot - the gold foil frames are washed out against the green fabric that pads the back of these bookshelves.

Dime Store Gilt Frames

Dime Store Gilt Frames

Rustoleum Classic Leather Kit

Rustoleum Classic Leather Kit

Red Base Coat

Red Base Coat

The glaze dries from a milky brown to a burled mahogany pattern, after the excess glaze is scrunched off by crumpled plastic grocery store bags.

The glaze dries from a milky brown to a burled mahogany pattern, after the excess glaze is scrunched off by crumpled plastic grocery store bags.

Ella is guarding the frames as they dry in the sun.

Ella is guarding the frames as they dry in the sun.

Presto. An Idiot-proof finish (and I can attest to that!)

Presto. An idiot-proof finish (I can attest to it!)

Wide shot - from a new camera I'm test driving. Happy Easter & Passover Everyone!

Wide shot - from a new camera I'm test driving. Happy Easter & Passover Everyone!

3 Responses to "Dime Store Gilt to Burled Mahogany"

Hi Nathan,
Thanks for the shout out!
And the frames turned out great.
Happy Easter to you too!
xo xo
PS The red tub is beautiful. Maybe a little too beautiful ha ha. I once had a bright yellow claw foot tub in the kithcen of a lower east side tenement in NYC. But only the outside was yellow, the inside was still white. I loved it then, and hung a black and white Fornasetti syle shower curtain with a naked ladies print (I still use that shower curtain ha ha).

The frames look great, but what I really want is more pictures of Ella! Thanks as well for the shout out. And keep in mind, half of a successful faux finish is the p.r.

Hi! My name is Cathy and I work for Rust-Oleum. I stumbled upon your blog and this fabulous project! I just wanted to say thank you so much for thinking of us and using our product.

I am glad you had a good experience with the kit! We are re-launching one of our project inspiration sites wich allows you to upload great projects like these and share them with other DIY fans.

Feel free to contact me as I would love to feature your project on the site!

Thanks again and I love your blog!

Cathy

Leave a Reply

Laurel Street Blog

Nate and Louis

Well, hey there. I'm Nathan and this is the Laurel Street Blog. It's a place for talking about design, decor and DIY (with small amounts of snarkery snuck in). I'm a pretty restless guy who loves house projects and lives in a 150+ year old cottage on Laurel Street in New Orleans. Since the house always has something going on with it (or falling off of it) I'm subsequently blessed with a never-ending supply of Web content to share. Oh - and you can drop me a line anytime LaurelStreetNola@gmail.com. Enjoy!

Can I get a tweet up in here? Follow along @LaurelStreet

The Laurel Street Cottage

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
