Laurel Street Blog

‘Spy Photos’ from The Garden Gates

Posted on: April 7, 2009

I say ‘spy photos’ because I surreptitiously took these shots with my iPhone while shopping over at The Garden Gates in Old Metairie this weekend. I’m totally sure they would’ve let me take photos of whatever I wanted for the blog, but I just felt like being sneaky about it. :-)

I mentioned the Garden Gates in another post and remarked about how well put together it is for a garden center, so I thought I’d just toss these photos up on the blog as inspiration shots.

Front Gate - I love the scooter and those great urns on the columns.

Front Gate - I love the scooter and those great big baskets of while petunias up on the columns.

Check out those great yellow 'strawberry' planting urns to the left of this shot of the store's 'back porch.' I like the curving steps and that cute pick patio set in the back of the shot!

Check out those great yellow urns to the left of this shot of the store's 'back porch.' I like the curving steps and that cute pink patio set in the back of the shot!

In the garden room where they sell plants that love sun, they have built these really fantastic arbors for displaying the plants. Check out those little 'upside down' pots hanging underneath the arbors - cute, but I'm not sold on the concept just yet.

In the garden room where they sell plants that love sun, they have built these really fantastic arbors for displaying the plants. Check out those little 'upside down' pots hanging underneath the arbors - cute, but I'm not sold on the concept just yet.

More arbors - I love their hanging baskets they keep up around the store.

More arbors - I love their hanging baskets they keep up around the store.

Who doesn't love an urn? Or two for that matter?

Who doesn't love an urn? Or two for that matter?

And a thoughtful playground for the kids who come with their parents. A nice touch I think. They are also holding a 'Easter Egg Hunt' for local kiddos at the garden center this weekend.

And a thoughtful playground for the kids who come with their parents. A nice touch I think. They are also holding a 'Easter Egg Hunt' for local kiddos at the garden center this weekend.

View to from the back to the main shop. You can't see much of it here, but a beautiful Live Oak shades the way.

View to from the back to the main shop. You can't see much of it here, but a giant Live Oak shades the way.

4 Responses to "‘Spy Photos’ from The Garden Gates"

You’re totally 007! I love a good topiary, too, and I see some good ones there…you wouldn’t mind buying me a couple, then driving them out here to CA, right? Thanks, I’ll expect you on Friday.

Love the yellow urns. It’s so nice to see a kid friendly garden center!

very pretty. love those yellow urns!

Ah, what a lovely spot to just stop and gaze. What fun for you. I can just imagine how fast your mind is spinning thinking of what you are going to do next! Boxwood maybe? Just love those little devils, don’t we??

Leave a Reply

Laurel Street Blog

Nate and Louis

Well, hey there. I'm Nathan and this is the Laurel Street Blog. It's a place for talking about design, decor and DIY (with small amounts of snarkery snuck in). I'm a pretty restless guy who loves house projects and lives in a 150+ year old cottage on Laurel Street in New Orleans. Since the house always has something going on with it (or falling off of it) I'm subsequently blessed with a never-ending supply of Web content to share. Oh - and you can drop me a line anytime LaurelStreetNola@gmail.com. Enjoy!

Can I get a tweet up in here? Follow along @LaurelStreet

The Laurel Street Cottage

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
