Laurel Street Blog

Dear Pottery Barn:

Posted on: March 28, 2009

Dear PB: How has this thing been selling for you?

Really a steal at $399.00. HAving installed my share of light fixtures lately, any person interesting in buying this lighting object should: A) Have their head examined - not only does one have to affix this hideous creation to the ceiling, they must then affix its ten tentacles as well) or B) Demand that installation in included in the price.

Behold. The Edison Chandelier. PLEASE do not exceed specified wattage.

Really a steal at $399.00. Having installed my share of light fixtures lately, any person interesting in buying this lighting object should: A) Have their head examined – not only does one have to wire this hideous creation to the ceiling, they must then affix its ten tentacles as well  or B) Demand that installation be included in the price.

I actually have nightmares about this thing. Here it is ‘in situ:’

These things will surely sell like hotcakes. Hotcakes, I tell you.

These things will surely sell like hotcakes. Hotcakes, I tell you.

Wisely, the imaginary people that live in this Pottery Barn home have decided to install it on their back porch. I can think of no more appropriate place.

Okay. That’s out of my system, now. I can say that like a few Pottery Barn touches around the house (but not too much of it!) and I like them more when I find them on sale. (I truly love a sale.) I can only think of one thing ever that I purchased at PB for full price… those little crown molding shelves they make? You know? They never go on sale. Shoot.

Anyway, there is a PB on the first floor of my office tower (which is connected to the Canal Place  mall) so I get to cruise through there once a week or so. I rarely buy anything but it’s a fun break. But yesterday, I found what I consider to be a real steal. All the pillow covers were 30% off already marked down prices, so I found these cute little numbers at $13.99 a piece. I had no guilt whatsoever – I pounced.

Zebra. Wheee!

Zebra on the cheap! Wheee!

HEY, YOU DOGS GET OFF OF THERE. NOW!

As you can see here Ella and Sister have graciously volunteered to model the effectiveness of my new pillows. Okay, you dogs get off of there. Now!

7 Responses to "Dear Pottery Barn:"

Because you busted me, I’m buying you one of these, flying to NOLA, and installing it in your fabulous office with the bee plates when you’re at work.

Sincerely,
The Management

Ah, don’t you just love them when they’re asleep! But really, on your NEW pillow covers!! Off, off, off! Oh well, they are just pillow covers.
As for that fixture – maybe for Halloween??
Loved seeing you last night – hope the patient is feeling better this AM.

* Your most precious Ella & Sister simply captured my heart!!! What CUTIE-PATOOTIES!!!… Now, where was I…? Many thanks, Linda

Hmmmm, I could use a new pillow cover. Might have to swing by. Thanks for the tip!

And I can tell your pups are quite frightened by you ;)

I have to agree with you on the light… It’s a little intimidating. And those pillows are perfection! I have a serious weakness for zebra print.

Hey Man! I used to like that light…until I thought about the installing process…and where the heck do ya get a bulb when those ones go.

Nice steal on the pillows

…Nicer steal on the smart pupsters!

just found your blog, it’s great! i used to work at that PB, “back in the day”

Leave a Reply

Laurel Street Blog

Nate and Louis

Well, hey there. I'm Nathan and this is the Laurel Street Blog. It's a place for talking about design, decor and DIY (with small amounts of snarkery snuck in). I'm a pretty restless guy who loves house projects and lives in a 150+ year old cottage on Laurel Street in New Orleans. Since the house always has something going on with it (or falling off of it) I'm subsequently blessed with a never-ending supply of Web content to share. Oh - and you can drop me a line anytime LaurelStreetNola@gmail.com. Enjoy!

Can I get a tweet up in here? Follow along @LaurelStreet

The Laurel Street Cottage

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
