Laurel Street Blog

Here she is, boys! Here she is, world! Here’s Rose!

Posted on: March 12, 2009

I simply could not resist a Gypsy reference in the title, sorry!

Now on with the show. Thanks to a fortunately mild winter in New Orleans, these antique ‘Safrano’ roses have been in light bloom throughout the winter, but they’ve taken off now!

So today, for Julia at HookedOnHouses, I’m hooked on antique roses. Antique specimens are super tough and hardly prone to any disease which makes caring for them almost non-existent. Modern tea roses require lots of babying – and that’s not my style at all. We just enjoy them without the work. I’m even hesitant to pull off a few blooms to take inside because I enjoy them on the shrubs so much.

Safrano Rose Blooms

Safrano Rose Blooms - Click for the close up - It's worth it!

I'm ready, Mr. DeMille

Great color...

pink_rose

Duchess de Brabant Rose - just getting started

By the way, the definitive source for these old, hardy varieties is The AntiqueRoseEmporium.com. We ordered four specimens last year and they sent us a pink knock-out rose just as a bonus. Surprise! Their roses are also very inexpensive, beautifully packed and shipped.

Here’s what else is on my agenda this weekend – after working inside all winter, I’m looking forward to a massive yard clean-up and some early annual planting (I’ve got a soft spot for Impatiens – the first thing I ever grew). I’m going to widen this bed around the fountain so I can do a little more this year:

Back Yard Flower Bed

Back Yard Flower Bed - The grass is looking muuuch better this year.

On my weekend to-do list... geraniums for the front porch (while it's still cool)

On my weekend to-do list... geraniums for the front porch (while it's still cool)

I'm a sucker for these! Always white - I'm sooo predictable.

I'm a sucker for these! Always white - I'm sooo predictable.

Louis is loving the warm weather and cannot wait to tromp around on my new flowerbed.

Louis is loving the warm weather and cannot wait to tromp around on my new flowerbed.

Friday Morning Update: I’d like to say a special thank you to my new blogging friend Jennifer from the Newlywed Diaries who was so generous to me in her post today!  I love Jenn’s blog, it is a ‘dutiful daily read’ for me. Jennifer has wonderful taste and style – and so many great ideas – why not stop by for a visit today?

9 Responses to "Here she is, boys! Here she is, world! Here’s Rose!"

Beautiful! I’m not great with flowers that needed “mothering” so it’s good to know that there are some hardy roses out there.

Love the white impatients! Is that how you spell it?

Will you come to my house and plant some roses for me? Thanks.

The roses look beautiful. I’m totally ready for Spring!

Cute picture of Louis!

Well we were both on the same wave length today. I only wish my back 40 looked as great as yours —- must be because you are more “South” than I am!
I can never stand to go out and whack away at the Impatiens that manage to limp through the winter months, but I can see that it is time.
We’ll have to keep up with each other during our do-overs of the outdoor spaces.

Beautiful roses but I do have a soft spot for impatiens as well! Love your Louis. I had a wonderully loving boxer name Noelani. what I loved most about her was her love of life. Have fun with the yardwork!

I am visiting via H.O.H. Great post!

I hope you’ll stop by for a visit, I am hosting a giveaway.

I used to have roses at my last house and loved them. These are beautiful! Thanks for sharing. :-)

Hi Nathan. Found your blog thorough Newlywed Diaries. Just wanted to say I enjoyed your posts and reading about what you’ve done with your lovely house. The study you designed is spectacular. And I love your closet redo!

[…] 39. Michelle @ Creatively Dreaming 40. velvet and linen (hooked on gorgeous white kitchens) 41. LaurelStreet – No Fuss Antique Roses 42. Deb/Dumbwittellher 43. Katie @ Clean & Classic Interiors (Tags!) 44. Amy @ LivingLocurto […]

Leave a Reply

Laurel Street Blog

Nate and Louis

Well, hey there. I'm Nathan and this is the Laurel Street Blog. It's a place for talking about design, decor and DIY (with small amounts of snarkery snuck in). I'm a pretty restless guy who loves house projects and lives in a 150+ year old cottage on Laurel Street in New Orleans. Since the house always has something going on with it (or falling off of it) I'm subsequently blessed with a never-ending supply of Web content to share. Oh - and you can drop me a line anytime LaurelStreetNola@gmail.com. Enjoy!

Can I get a tweet up in here? Follow along @LaurelStreet

The Laurel Street Cottage

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
