Laurel Street Blog

Trouble at the Fabric Store

Posted on: March 11, 2009

The Saturday before last, I noodled around all over Metairie. Metairie is suburb of New Orleans. It is a place New Orleanians go to get stuff (like from Target) then come back home as soon as possible. The reason for this is that Metairie is filled with the type of drivers who know exactly how to find their car horns but  absolutely cannot find their turning signals …But I digress.

Since I’d been literally enclosed in the Mardi Gras parade routes for the last few weeks or so, getting out to run some errands was fun. I made in one day a trip to the art supply store, the bookstore, Lowes, a gift shop, and two grocery stores. But no Saturday sojourn to Metairie is complete without stopping by Fabrix. This is my favorite playground for upholstery fabric… and I get into trouble in here.

My very first DIY project 8 years ago was to furnish a big bedroom (with almost no money). We had a queen-sized bed with no headboard and I simply hated sleeping without one – I never knew which way way up. I made a simple rectangular form from plywood and foam and it’s really lasted, I’ve recovered it twice since then.

Current headboard... suede-y brown fabric with nailhead trim.

Current headboard... suede-y brown fabric with nailhead trim.

However, I always longed for something curvy and fun, like this one Joni of Cote de Texas snapped the other day for her Provence House post:

Via Cote de Texas

Via Cote de Texas

And I may yet make one like this. But I realized the other day that it’s just too easy to change to look of the rectangular headboard. I could do a different one every week if I wanted, or even a slipcover. It’s just a simple box:

Nailhead Trim

Nailhead Trim

A slipcover, even… Hmmm.

This photo doesn't do this fabric justice (iPhone). It is really cool, and realllly expensive.

This photo doesn't do this fabric justice (iPhone). It is really cool, and realllly expensive.

I like the colors - but maybe a little boring... or a little Bozo the Clown?

I like the colors - but maybe a little boring... or a little Bozo the Clown?

Embroidered Ferns on a Red Ultrasuede... I'm not sure it connects with the rest of the room.

Embroidered Ferns on a Red Ultrasuede... I'm not sure it connects with the rest of the room.

I love this woven raw silk, but maybe for pillows. Not sure about a headboard.

I love this thick, woven raw silk, but maybe for pillows. Not sure about a headboard. Surprisingly affordable.

Maybe a little old fashioned?

Maybe a little old fashioned? Maybe right for the sofa on Mama's Family.

It's pretty, ahem, regal... and very New Orleans. I'd be happy with this (and Richard love blue) but I'm not sure about the small pattern point on a wide headboard.

It's pretty, ahem, regal... and very New Orleans. In New Orleans you can't throw a rock and not hit a Fleur de Lis. I'd be happy with this (and Richard loves blue) but I'm not sure about the small pattern point on a wide headboard.

This looks like a headboard to me...

This looks like a headboard to me... but dusty rose? Yugh.

Now this says headboard. Yes? No?

Now this says headboard. Yes? No?

4 Responses to "Trouble at the Fabric Store"

I love that last fabric option! I’ve seen something similar and the silk with the embroidery just purrs. : ) Having said that, I also like your suede and nailhead trim! I’ve been wanting to play with that for a while…just need to decide where! Ha! PS – a friend from college was from Metarie…and yes, she was a craaaaazy driver. Ha!

If you really love the blue and fluer de lis you could jazz it up to the right scale by cutting it into strips and sewing together with strips of a solid to make a large scale stripe. Or how about doing a large fluer de lis applique in the middle? Do you ever go to interior fabrics on severn? They don’t have as large a selection, but what they do have is nice. In fact right now, they’re having a clearance. You can even look online. I think the site is http://www.fabricresource.com.

Hey you! Want to email you directly, but you haven’t put an email address anywhere on this blog! Shoot me an email when you have a chance! XOXO, JJ

Yes to slipcovers! I have an Anichini headboard at the shop with 3 slipcovers and they are just great. I’ll take some snaps if you like so you can see how they are constructed. I am sure that yours would be heads and shoulders above these!

Leave a Reply

Laurel Street Blog

Nate and Louis

Well, hey there. I'm Nathan and this is the Laurel Street Blog. It's a place for talking about design, decor and DIY (with small amounts of snarkery snuck in). I'm a pretty restless guy who loves house projects and lives in a 150+ year old cottage on Laurel Street in New Orleans. Since the house always has something going on with it (or falling off of it) I'm subsequently blessed with a never-ending supply of Web content to share. Oh - and you can drop me a line anytime LaurelStreetNola@gmail.com. Enjoy!

Can I get a tweet up in here? Follow along @LaurelStreet

The Laurel Street Cottage

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
