Laurel Street Blog

My First ‘Grown Up’ Apartment

Posted on: October 31, 2008

living_roomI had real trouble finding an apartment when I first moved to New Orleans in the 90’s. I had arrived in August and Loyola and Tulane students had beaten me to most of the listings I called, from listings in the paper. (Remember when we looked for things in the newspaper? How quaint.)

So I lived in a guest house on Magazine for about a month, and kept at it, until I found not just an apartment, but the apartment. I literally thought to myself when the landlord opened the door and a saw a breathtaking antique chandelier, “SOLD!”

bedroom

I really didn’t much grown up furniture at all, right out of Graduate school. My childhood bedroom set, six dining room chairs (curiously, no dining room table), a computer desk and a kitchen table. I didn’t own a rug, a sofa, television. The apartment was graciously scaled for one, once quarter of a center hall home, with 14 foot windows that looked out onto the parade route of Napoleon Avenue. But my few little belongings looked lost in the grand setting.

So this is where my decorating preoccupation began. I needed a grown up home. I loved this bachelor apartment with my whole heart, and I took some photos shortly before Richard and I decided to merge households.

Please remember, this was the 90’s so there are lots of dated details and I still had not developed a comprehensive way of looking at a room. You’ll see lots and lots of tiny accessories… and boy, was I on a budget. I’ve learned many design lessons since then. But still, I was so proud of that place. It was really “me” (at the time!)

dining1

Here are some photos of friends from my 2001 Orpheus party. Literally thousands of people were right outside my front door, all enjoying (my favorite) Mardi Gras parade. I think the house looks better when it’s filled with friends. 

 

2001 Orpheus Party

Early in the Evening: 2001 Orpheus Party

 

The perfect spot for watching a Mardi Gras parage

My front porch on Napoleon: The perfect spot for watching a Mardi Gras parade

 

1 Response to "My First ‘Grown Up’ Apartment"

[…] blog so I’m declaring it my blog anniversary. Technically, I started this whole mess on October 31, 2008 but I liked the roundness of 100 posts so I waited to celebrate. I typically don’t post just […]

Leave a Reply

Laurel Street Blog

Nate and Louis

Well, hey there. I'm Nathan and this is the Laurel Street Blog. It's a place for talking about design, decor and DIY (with small amounts of snarkery snuck in). I'm a pretty restless guy who loves house projects and lives in a 150+ year old cottage on Laurel Street in New Orleans. Since the house always has something going on with it (or falling off of it) I'm subsequently blessed with a never-ending supply of Web content to share. Oh - and you can drop me a line anytime LaurelStreetNola@gmail.com. Enjoy!

Can I get a tweet up in here? Follow along @LaurelStreet

The Laurel Street Cottage

October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
